Jim PhillipsJim Phillips

Chairman of the Board, CEO

Jim Phillips is internationally credited with being very instrumental in launching instant messaging, the PDA, Cable Modem, PCS, Fixed Cellular, Time Magazine’s Medical Invention of the Year- the VeinViewer, and iPix, at the time, the world’s largest provider of digital imaging infrastructure for the internet, in such areas as online real estate, auction listings, and classified ads. Throughout his business career, Jim has held numerous prominent positions and founded and co-founded many successful corporations while introducing many products used by millions worldwide.
Full Jim Phillips Bio

Ajay P. Malshe

Founder, EVP, CTO, Board Member

Ajay P. Malshe is the Founder, Executive VP and Chief Technology Officer (CTO) of NanoMech. He currently holds the 21st Century Endowed Chair Professor of Materials, Manufacturing Processes and Integrated Systems at the Department of Mechanical Engineering and is an Adjunct Faculty of Microelectronics and Photonics Program at the University of Arkansas. He is also the Director of the Materials and Manufacturing Research Laboratories.  Dr. Malshe, as an inventor, has received numerous awards/recognitions, including Fellowship of American Society of Mechanical Engineering (ASME) and he was chosen by NanoBusiness Alliance as one of the top 10  Most Influential Nanotechnology Leaders of 2010.
Full Ajay Malshe Bio

Deborah Wince-Smith

Board Member

Deborah L. Wince-Smith is the President & CEO of the Council on Competitiveness (Council). Founded in 1986, this unique coalition of leading CEO’s, university presidents and labor union leaders puts forth actionable public policy solutions to make America more competitive in the global marketplace. An internationally renowned, leading voice on competitiveness, innovation strategy, science and technology, and international economic policy, Ms. Wince-Smith has been credited with recharging the national debate on competitiveness, innovation and resilience. Ms. Wince-Smith is frequently called upon to testify in front of the U.S. Congress and appears regularly on global television news networks including Bloomberg, BBC, CNBC, CNN and Fox News.
Full Deborah Wince-Smith bio

Michael Easterly

Board Member

Mike Easterly is a veteran of the investment banking business and co-founder and organizer of the Legacy companies and most recently served as the Chairman of Legacy Securities Corp. and Legacy Investment Group, Inc. He was Chief Manager of Legacy Lodging II, LLC and a Principal of Legacy Capital Partners, LLC (the firm’s venture affiliate). Mr. Easterly is CEO of Legacy Media Holdings, LLC, which operates radio stations in Memphis, Tennessee and south Atlanta, Georgia.
Full Michael Easterly bio

Christopher Galvin

Board Member

Christopher Galvin is Chairman, CEO, and Co-Founder of Harrison Street Capital, LLC; Co-Founder and Chairman of Harrison Street Real Estate Capital LLC; Executive Chairman and Co-Founder of UniqueSoft Inc. a real-time software authoring services company; and Chairman of Cleversafe Inc., a digital storage company.

Full Christopher Galvin bio

Advisory Board

John Hendricks

Advisory Board Member

John Hendricks is the Founder and former Chairman of global media company Discovery Communications (parent of Discovery Channel, TLC, Animal Planet and many other television networks worldwide). Hendricks also is the Founder of Curiosity Project, a multi-platform initiative delivering to lifelong learners the highest quality deep-dive content on topics in science, technology, civilization and the human spirit, with a digital subscription service launching in first quarter 2015 at curiosityclub.com. Hendricks serves on the Board of Directors of the Carnegie Corporation of New York and the Institute for Advanced Study.

Full John Hendricks bio

Bran Ferren

Advisory Board Member

One of Fast Company’s “100 Most Creative People in Business,” Bran Ferren is a master of the arts and sciences. Equal parts artist/designer and scientist/engineer, he is an expert on leveraging curiosity and creativity to inspire innovation. His 2014 TED Talk entitled “To create for the ages, let’s combine art and engineering” has been translated into 24 languages and viewed nearly 1,000,000 times.

Full Bran Ferren bio

John White Jr.

Advisory Board Member

A native Arkansan, John A. White, Jr., is a 1962 BSIE graduate of the University of Arkansas. After a brief period of employment at Tennessee Eastman Company, he embarked on an academic career in March of 1963 as a tenure-track instructor at Virginia Tech, where he taught full-time from 1963 to 1966. Upon completing his MSIE degree, for the next 3.5 years, he taught at The Ohio State University while pursuing his doctorate. After completing the PhD requirements in December of 1969, he returned to Virginia Tech’s faculty, where he remained until December of 1974, at which time he joined the Georgia Tech faculty.

Full John White Jr. bio

Ruth Whitney

Advisory Board Member

Ruth H. Whitney is the founder and CEO of inVeritas. Ruth serves as a strategic advisor to clients based on over 25 years of expertise in law, government, politics and public opinion. She has been privileged to advise Global 500 companies, prominent professional services firms, state and federal governments, law firms, nonprofit corporations and industry associations.

Full Ruth Whitney bio

John Steuri

Advisory Board Member

John Steuri, as a private investor, works with several small, developing businesses in Arkansas to provide financing assistance as well as management advice and counsel as needed. He is a founder and managing member of Venture Capital Investors, LLC and also it’s successor, the Fund for Arkansas Future, LLC, which provides early stage angel funding to small, developing Arkansas businesses to enhance job creation and economic development in the State. In 1996, Mr. Steuri retired as Chairman and CEO of ALLTEL Information Services, Inc. (formerly Systematics Information Services, Inc.), Little Rock.

Full John Steuri bio